Pai Announces Advisory Committee On Diversity and Digital Empowerment 

On Friday, FCC Chairman Ajit Pai announced the appointment of 31 members to the Advisory Committee on Diversity and Digital Empowerment (ACDDE). Pai has designated Julia Johnson (pictured), President, NetCommunications, LLC, to serve as Chair of the ACDDE. The committee will provide recommendations to the FCC on how to ensure that disadvantaged communities are not denied opportunities made possible by next-generation networks. Its members will come up with ideas and develop recommendations to the FCC on media ownership and procurement opportunities, empowering communities to spur educational, economic, and civic development, and consumer access to digital technologies. Pai has also announced that three working groups -- Broadcast Diversity and Development, Digital Empowerment and Inclusion, and Diversity in the Tech Sector -- will assist the ACDDE in carrying out its work, though their makeup has yet to be determined. “All Americans should have the opportunity to participate in the communications marketplace, no matter their race, gender, religion, ethnicity, or sexual orientation. I hope this committee will help our agency take important steps towards increasing diversity throughout the communications industry and bringing digital opportunity to all Americans,” said Pai. Click here to see the full announcement and list of committee members.

Brenda Arredondo