Ebony Releases Power 100

EBONY magazine announced its annual EBONY Power 100 list, which honors the heroes and leaders of the African American community whose work continues to inspire, influence, and impact the next generation. Linda Johnson Rice, CEO of EBONY Media Operations said, “In addition to recognizing the EBONY Power 100 honorees, this is the inaugural year of the John H. Johnson Award, named after my father, the founder of EBONY magazine. The first recipient of this award will be business titan, investor and philanthropist Robert F. Smith.” Congresswoman Maxine Waters (D-CA) will be recognized with the Icon Award for her years of service in Congress. Some of the additional honorees include Senators Cory Booker (D-NJ) and Kamala Harris (D-CA); activist DeRay Mckesson; commentator Angela Rye; artist Kendrick LamarDia Simms, President of Combs Enterprises; Bozoma Saint John, the Chief Brand officer of Uber; actress Viola Davis; Gregory Jones, the Chief Diversity Officer at United Airlines; director Jordan Peele; and Dave Chappelle, among others. See the full list here.

Tiffany D. Cross